5 Simple Tips To Saving Some Coins

My grandmother always says, “everything goes up but your salary”. In my older age I understand that so much more. It feels like every time I go to purchase a dozen eggs, they’ve gone up a quarter or every time I leave the house, gas has gone up $0.10. The only thing that remains the same is my direct deposit every week. More often than not, I’m looking for a way to save some money when I’m shopping. Clipping coupons are top of the list of course, but clipping coupons can really be a full-time job and not everything has a coupon. But for the times there are coupons I strongly suggest using them in addition to some other tricks.

Ebates/Rakuten

For quite some time I have heard and/or read of Ebates, which I believe is now called Rakuten or goes by either name. What I do know is that you can get cash back for making qualifying purchases through them. For those of us with smartphones it’s a bit easier because you can download the app and shop directly through there. I actually recently signed up and after my first purchase I received a $10 welcome bonus! If you are unable to access the app you can go directly to their website and sign up through there. There are so many places that you can shop and receive money back through Ebates and the percentages vary depending on which brand or store you’re shopping at. All you have to do is sign up then shop and you’re on your way to getting cash back.

https://go.ebat.es/1sC1wEb5EW – copy and paste this link into your browser to sign up today!

Rewards Program

One of the best ways for businesses to get us consumers to come back for more, is to offer us some sort of reward. For me, it works. Everywhere I go I check to see if there is some sort of rewards program that I can sign up for and often times it’s free! Sometimes signing up for the program is as simple as giving your name and phone number. And, you may even get a signing bonus. While the idea is to get you to come back, it’s beneficial for you as well. The rewards vary tremendously from free guacamole and chips, to $5 off your first purchase to coupons for your birthday. Who doesn’t like to be rewarded for being born? The next place you go, ask if they have some sort of rewards program as you’ll be surprised at how many places of businesses do.

Subscribe and Save

The world has shifted and is still shifting to primarily making purchases online. Something that I have noticed recently when shopping online is the option to subscribe and save. I was pretty skeptical the first time I ever saw the option because it feels like such a huge commitment. Especially for a product I haven’t even tried yet. But when I find that I enjoy the product, the next time I order I subscribe and save. You can save anywhere from 10-15% from what I have seen, and you’re guaranteed the order is placed that same day every month. Now I would also suggest getting a calendar or putting it on your calendar on your phone, so you know the order is going to be placed. For my subscriptions I get an email a few days before and can either skip the shipment or push it back. That way I’m not unnecessarily purchasing product that I already have enough of.

“Kyanna’s Piggy Bank” by Jewelie Lazo

Competitors Coupons

Every store/business has a competitor. The goal should always be to find ways to be better. A good way to be better is to accept coupons from your competitors or price match. We all like to do what’s more convenient for us to save time and money. Personally, if I know I can go to my local grocery store and everything will be the same price as somewhere cheaper and further away, because they price match, I’m going to support my local grocery store. So, when shopping don’t be afraid to ask if they price match, the worst that can happen is they say no.

Combine Coupons

And sometimes the original way is simply the best way. Who doesn’t love coupons? Who doesn’t love using more than one coupon? I’m not sure that double couponing still exists but I know there was a point in time when that was the thing. Believe it or not there is still a way to double coupon, kind of. And that is using both store coupons and manufactures coupons. Again, this is something you’d have to ask the place of business if they allow. I don’t know of many places that do allow this, but it can surely save some extra money, where accepted. I actually know of one place of business, which is BJ’s Wholesale Club. It is membership based so unfortunately you can’t just walk in and shop. But there are often promotions on the membership so check for one if you aren’t already a member.

Those are my five tips to saving some extra coins. I really hope you can take at least one tip with you and rack up the savings!

Leave a comment